Ask a Question ?
Design & Publish Websites Faster

Clear your Browser’s Cache to Ensure you’re Using the Latest Version

In this article, we will explain about your browser’s cache and why it is important to clear (refresh) it often.

Especially, clearing it is fundamental when we make important changes and release updates in our program.

What is cache?

The following is an extract from an article in Wikipedia:

A web cache is a mechanism for the temporary storage (caching) of web documents, such as HTML pages and images, to reduce bandwidth usage, server load, and perceived lag.

One of the most common uses and clear examples for the cache, is to store images such as backgrounds, that are used throughout a website in most or all pages. This is done so that image(s) are accessed locally instead of downloading it over and over again.

Other files, like scripts or style sheets can also be cached.

Why clear it?

In general, clearing the cache often is advisable to ensure you’re always getting the latest version of a website.

Specifically in our web tool, there are updates released to the editor all the time. Though not all of them require you to clear your cache, it’s advisable to do it every now an then.

How to Clear your Browser’s Cache

Clearing your browser’s cache may be a little bit different in every browser.

They all involve going through the options or settings and selecting an option that

Below you’ll find instructions on how to do it for 2 of the most popular (and supported) browsers: Mozilla Firefox and Google Chrome.

Firefox

Go to the “Tools” menu and select “Options” (the last item).

On the Firefox Tools menu, select "Options"

On the Firefox Tools menu, select “Options”

This is what it would look in Mac OS:

If you're using Mac OS, click on the "Firefox" menu and then on "Preferences"

If you’re using Mac OS, click on the “Firefox” menu and then on “Preferences”

Click on the “Advanced” panel, then on the “Network” tab, and finally on the “Clear Now” button on the “Cached Web Content” section.

Click on "Clear Now" to clear your cache

Click on “Clear Now” to clear your cache

It looks almost the same in Mac OS:

The interface is almost the exact same in Mac OS

The interface is almost the exact same in Mac OS

Chrome

Click on the menu button on the top right corner of your browser. Select “Tools” and then “Clear browsing data”.

The menu button on Chrome will reveal these options when clicked

The menu button on Chrome will reveal these options when clicked

You’ll be taken to a settings page, with the browsing data clearance options. If you only want to clear your cache, deselect all boxes but the one for “Empty the cache”. Then choose a time frame and click below on the button labeled “Clear browsing data”.

Hint: select "the beginning of time" to clear all cache

Hint: select “the beginning of time” to clear all cache

The user interface looks the same in Mac OS.

FAQ

Should my visitors also clear their cache?

Not necessarily. Your site will continue to look fine to your visitors even if they don’t clear their cache.

But in general it’s a good practice to clear it from time to time to have a better browsing experience.

How often should I refresh/clear my cache?

Updates are released all the time, but not all of them require you to clear your browser’s cache.

Our advise is to clear it every time you’re going to enter the editor (log in to your site). However, if you’re editing your site very often you may want to do it at least once a week.

Remember to clear it if you are experiencing any kind of trouble, since we may have just released a fix for a particular issue.

How do I clear it on mobile browsers?

We don’t currently support editing sites on mobile browsers, so our advise is to avoid using a mobile device to edit your site.

What happens if I don’t clear my cache?

The situations may vary a lot, from not seeing the latest user interface pictures (like small icons here and there) to having a broken editor that prevents you to edit your site properly.

Not clearing your cache will not affect in any way your public site – the one that your visitors see.

We’re Done

Doubts or comments? Share below!

Menu